Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Vreski Warding System #3

The Elements (part 1)

Ten elements, according to the Vreski mystics, form the knit and weave of the world. But unlike the elements of the scientists, these elements are not real things; rather they form the potential of the world, and the potential of the life within the world.

These elements are in continual flux, each following a cycle during which their levels rise and fall. Some elements, such as 'Qaasla' (air), have a quick cycle: the air element takes just seven days to fall and then rise again; other elements - 'Dxaevma' (metal), for example - are much slower, completing a cycle over many weeks.

The natal elements

The relative levels of the elements at a time of a person's birth set out the potentials for that life. The higher a level of an element at birth, the more control that person has over the emotions and opportunities ruled by that element, and the less likely they will be to let those emotions and opportunities rule them. Knowing where your weaknesses lie can help you work harder to control and own them.

Each element is part of a pair, with each pair of elements controlling a particular domain: 'Polovosa' (above); 'Polospuesa' (spirit); 'Polotcefta' (around); 'Polocieva' (flesh); and 'Polosusa' (below). While people are quick to associate themselves with the strongest individual element at the time of their birth, the strongest domain - which may not include the strongest element - also plays a role in mapping out their potential.

Equally, it is important for people to know their weakest natal elements and domains, for it is on those areas of potential that a person will have to work hardest if they are to achieve a balanced life, where they are in control of their world, rather than the world being in control of them.

The domains and their elements

'Polovosa': the domain of Above
The skies above us are in a state of constant change: day and night; clouds forming and changing and dispersing. Even those constants - the sun, the moons and planets, the stars - refuse to stay still. Polovosa is an immediate place, the domain of action and reaction. But it is also a place of cycles and repetitions; look up to the skies and you can guess what's likely to occur in the next few minutes or hours.

'Qaasla' - the element of Air
The lightest of elements, Qaasla represents the touch of the breeze, and also the punch of the tornado. Represented by the blue of the midday sky and the form of the feather, this element covers the lungs and breathing. It is also the element of smell. It talks of beginnings. Gratitude is the key emotion of Qaasla, though there is always the danger that gratitude can devolve into the more erratic impulses of hero-worship.

'Dxeva' - the element of Radiance
Falling from the sky, Dxeva rains down on us from the sun, moon and stars alike. The wisp of hair strands, and the yellow colour of the sun, are representative of this element. Dxeva is all about communication - the rush of the chatter and the nuance of the facial expression, thus making it the element of the mouth and face, and also of taste. As the balance to Qaasla, Dxeva is the element of endings - though an ending can also be seen as a new beginning, a change of direction or outlook. Such episodes can generate confusion, the emotion of Dxeva, which in extreme states can devolve into anxiety.

'Polospuesa': the domain of Spirit
We are all born alone, and many of us will also die alone. Yet Polospuesa, the realm of the individual, does not need to be a lonely place. This is the world of creativity and inspiration; a place for dreaming the impossible, and then finding the inspirations for turning those dreams into reality, both for the individual and for the wider circles of their communities.

'Hepta' - the element of Fire
The delightful dance of the flame can so easily become the rage of the destroying fire; Hepta combines both within its boundaries. Represented by red hues and the discarded husk or shell, this is the element of the heart, blood and thirst. And yet it is also the element of the hearth, the centre of the home. A well maintained home is a proud home - pride is the rightful emotion of Hepta, both for what we dream and for what we achieve as individuals within the community. Though care needs to be taken that pride doesn't become a narcissistic love for the self to the detriment of others.

'Drjelja' - the element of Smoke
From Hepta comes Drjelja, the billowing cloud that can fascinate us with its dance, and kill us with its choke. Where the flames rise to the sky, so the smoke falls to the ground. Brown is the colour of Drjelja, and leather its representative material. This is the element of the liver; it deals with the fevers and chills that can afflict us; anger is its emotion, and rage. Yet it is also the element of exploration, for the journey away from the hearth and home - for only by moving beyond our known safety zones can a person develop and grow into their true individuality.

No comments:

Post a Comment